Wikipedia: Easier, yet harder than I imagined.

The foursquare Wikipedia page has a lot of information and I was nervous that I would not  be able to add something useful. After reading through I noticed that the “Scoring” section was very short. Earning points on foursquare is one of my favorite ways to use the service so I decided it would be helpful to  talk about other ways to earn points than was already listed. I was very excited to add information to Wikipedia. I really felt that I was adding to collective intelligencce and I was excited to discover there was something about foursquare I could add that others had not. It seemed so easy, all I had to do was click the edit button and add information. However,after my addition I got this message:

Hello, and welcome to Wikipedia. Everyone is welcome to make constructive contributions to Wikipedia, but at least one of your recent edits, such as the one you made to Foursquare (website), did not appear to be constructive and has been automatically reverted (undone) by an automated computer program called ClueBot NG.”

This made me really sad. I made another edit to the list of Badges and added some active ones that did not appear on the list as well as a source. This one was not removed. At first I thought it was becuase I had added a source but the scoring section did not have a source to begin with.

The first edit that I made was long and drawn out so I decided to try again and make it more concise: I added this:

“Points for checking in with the same friend at multiple locations – BFF bonus.
Also earn points for being the first of your friends to check into a new location.”

This was the same style as the scoring information already presented. This edit survived Wikipedia’s automated computer program editor. So I added new information on how to earn points, addition badges that you can earn, and a source not only with all active badges listed but retired ones as well. I think earning points and badges is really fun. I enjoyed using foursquare and I am glad I was able to share some of my knowledge with others.

 

 

Leave a Reply

